silent as the grave

Standard

I didn’t realize I’d been silent here for so long. I’ve had plenty in my head, just no real will to write it down and I don’t know why.

Sweeping nostalgia and melancholy drown my coherent thoughts; heavy rain tends to encourage this. I unearthed some old writings today, by a click of dumb luck and I’ve been at the coffee shop reeling for the last hour or two.

As I sit here with my empty cup of lavender tea, I wonder: will I always handle self-reflection best with a pen in my hand? It’s like the feelings aren’t validated unless written by my hand. I must write all of my emotions down with whimsy, veracity and honesty so biting I won’t be able to help the eye-roll when I re-read my own words.

I’m thankful for the awful music and loud chatter in here, it’s aiding in keeping my brain at bay…the things I read today could really use analysis and this isn’t the place.

Or maybe it is. Until I can muster up the courage to summarize the things my eyes have seen today, I shall contemplate the various ways one could illustrate the phrase “silent as the grave,” because sometimes zipped lips are better than loose ones….ships sail longer that way.

One thought on “silent as the grave

  1. Jordan bailey

    T-yo, I have to admit how much I enjoy reading your work. Your words are so plentiful and with great pleasure, I look forward to the next submission. I can’t wait to get my hands on this book, I hear you’ve been published!!! That’s wonderful, congratulations!!!

    Sincerely,
    Jordo

Leave a Reply

