The Anchor

Standard

Well, well…I’ve managed to get my ass back in the chair long enough to shout at the rooftops, “I’M PUBLISHED!  WE DID IT!” My first novel is now available for purchase on Amazon, e-book format only. Wild, no?

you can buy The Anchor here.

I am more nervous now than when I hit “upload.” The idea of my closest friends and family, and complete strangers, reading the longest thing I’ve ever written is mind-boggling. What if they hate it? What if they love it? What if I didn’t say the right things, put the words together the right way? Well, it is what it is. 

I have made it abundantly clear, to myself and those around me, that I will more than likely never write something as fluffy and romantic ever again, though I’ve already written the first 10 pages or so of The Anchor’s intended follow-up. It was a wonderful process, one I’ve gushed about many, many times on this platform (please feel free to go back through archived stuff for gushiness concerning my first novel; it’s incredibly sweet.) I just feel like this project is so…bare; so reflective, open and completely honest about a time in my life that I tried to keep as private as possible; emotion hidden even from myself. I don’t think one feeling has been left out..that’s a lot of feels, y’all. Regardless of how ballsy and daring, I felt as though this project needed sharing, if only for the personal realization that I CAN do this. Aside for sharing my love for yoga and music, writing is what I want to do; I’ve finally landed on a niche.

I’m already working on my next project, and “far from romantic” is an understatement. I hope to release a brief synopsis within the month. I will once again relentlessly submit my words for representation, but I like the unconventionality of self-publishing.

Instead of leaving you with a blog-track, I’m going to leave this playlist here. I’ve always believed that books should have accompanying soundtracks because you hear music when you read; though you may not listen to music while reading, you may recall certain events when you hear certain songs. These “Honorable Mentions” are scattered throughout the novel and close to my heart. Please enjoy!

The Anchor: Honorable Mentions

Thank you to those who have continually read my blog, who looked at The Anchor before it was what it now and to my amazing counter-part who not only designed all of the fabulous artwork, but co-edited with me as well. I say we did pretty damn well for two “unprofessional” publishers.

I am so incredibly thankful for this writing life, regardless of how tired I am.

Leave a Reply

