The Beej

Standard

my new year’s resolution this year was gratitude, in whatever form that comes. whether it be verbally expressing it, demonstrating it through some sort of act or writing it down. my goal this year is to be grateful for the things that I’ve learned and the things that are to come. today though, I want to take as many words as I can possibly find to express gratitude for my favorite person.

she makes me crazier than anyone else. she makes me laugh louder and cry harder and smile wider than anybody else in my world. we lock horns and oh my lawwwwwd when we fight it feels awful and ugly and really turns my universe upside down.

But that lady….she chose me. She said yes to me when she didn’t have to. I’m sure there have been days over the last 27 years, give or take a few a months, that she has really questioned this decision, but I know she’s never regretted it, and for that there are just no words. I’m the luckiest most blessed girl in the world to get to call BettyJo my mama.

I could list everything that she’s done for me, but the last year alone wold take two or three days to cover. She listens to me, provides me with support and comfort and love, all without asking for anything in return. She is happy to applaud me when I’ve done something awesome and is equally as happy to let me know when I need a reality check; she’s the best friend I’ve ever had.

I’m not quite sure how she does it all. She works with ferocious passion at a job that inspires her. She’s an amazing wife to a man that thinks she hung the stars, just for him. Anything that comes out of her kitchen is delicious – her spaghetti and banana pudding being crowd favorites. 

She’s probably too inquisitive for her own good, but her tenacity is the thing I love most about her I think. She wants to have all the answers – sometimes she thinks she has them, especially where the weather is concerned – and that’s something I can’t fault her for. 

Whether or not she agrees with me whole heartedly, she tries her best to support me. I know there have been decisions I’ve made over the years that my mom has had to simply roll her eyes about; “this too shall pass,” being a favorite phrase, no matter how sarcastically or sincerely the line is being delivered. 

Mom, I’m sorry I’m not a card person, I hope this will suffice:: you’re right about everything, all the time. I wish I would have listened to all of your advice from the beginning of my early twenties. I wish that I would have stayed home more in high school and spent more time with Dad. I wish I would have read the subtext in, “you know that this is your decision,” while standing in the bridal suite on my wedding day – I would have done things entirely different. I wish I could adequately describe how thankful I am for you and all that you do for me and everyone around you. 

you’re the most kickass person I know, the only Beej in the world and I’m so happy I get to call you mom. 
I love you! 

Leave a Reply

