for the willing

Standard

watch this video, then read the rest: https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=354488734730015

I’m absolutely going to take this entry to gush about yoga. If you didn’t watch the video, the man in this video couldn’t walk without assistance and was overweight, with obvious emotional scars from the war he served in, among other things. He said that doctors told him he would never fully rehabilitate and that most yoga teachers turned him away; all but one. Because that one instructor took the risk and said yes to a challenge, this man can now walk, run, handstand (something I still can’t do,) and lives a healthy, happier daily life. I was in tears before the video reached minute one. It’s amazing what yoga teaches us; the power of believing in yourself.

Before you convince yourself that you can’t, try; you will quickly see that you can. I think life is mostly about willingness, not ability.

I cannot possibly ever put in to words – not in the way I wish – how much yoga practice has changed my life. I was leaving Yoga in the Gallery, a luxury in my small town, thinking about what b. Hendrick (a most kickass instructor) had said during meditation. He spoke about being present in a moment, but not involved; that we can acknowledge and be aware of emotion, but not dwell on the feeling – obviously referring to detachment. I went back and forth most of last night, during my mega relaxing menthol bath/getting ready for bed, about what I thought those things meant; about what it means to be detached and if that’s okay. I talked to some friends about it and we all seemed to draw a similar conclusion: as long as this path of thinking doesn’t paralyze you emotionally, it’s positive. I don’t want to be so zen that I don’t feel anything, but I will say that it feels amazing to not be plagued with unnecessary stress and worry.

The perspective detachment has provided for me is something I’m beyond grateful for. I think being able to separate my feelings from what’s been going on in my life over the last year or so is what’s given me the ability to make sensible decisions; a trait that again, I can only thank my yoga practice for. I can look at a whole picture now and appreciate the details, while realizing there are decisions and steps that need to be made, and that I need to trust the timing. I’m not afraid to take these steps anymore. My mind is strong, my body is getting stronger and I can’t wait to see where my mat takes me next.

One thought on “for the willing

Leave a Reply

