Setting Sail

Standard

I can’t believe it. I just finished my first novel. It’s done (aside from obvious close editing.) This is an incredibly bittersweet moment.

52010 words, roughly 288 pages. Not a long book by any means, but can I just say….this project has changed me in ways I’ll never be able to explain. It’s been a challenge, a dream….revelry. I was forced to go to places emotionally I didn’t understand (and still don’t, but that’s part of the process I guess?) and places I’m more than comfortable. I found a strong voice inside myself, a voice that took me a long time to recognize, but once I finally heard it….well, that changed everything. It’s amazing when confidence and actualization of self-worth collide.

I’ve had loving, awesome, amazing, wonderful beautiful friends and family read and reread for me and I’ve picked their brains to death. My co-workers have put up with me shamelessly asking the most random questions: how would you answer this? You’re a guy, what would you say to this? What would you say is your favorite cologne? (Thank you Andy LaRocca, Burberry Brit is absolutely what Walter would smell like.) New York or San Francisco? What sound do you notice more in a song? – seriously…just off the wall random non-sense constantly. I love those people with every ounce.

I’ve Google-mapped and and Hotwired and so on a million times to get the geography correct and make myself incredibly excited to eventually see all of the places I talk about. Okay, so I may or may not have intentionally set the story on the beaches of Carolina just so I could research it on Wednesdays. What of it. I’m making things happen! It’s the only way!

I’m sure this will grow through the editing and publishing (cross your fingers!) process, but I am thrilled to say, the first, final draft of The Anchor is finished. I feel so incredibly blessed and proud. It’s a legit feeling, for real.

For those of you who expressed interest in this book (an overwhelming number honestly, which is beyond fantastic,) I promise to have a blurb about the book up soon. I know that,”a love story, in male perspective,” obviously leaves a few things to be desired. I just haven’t figured out a way to summarize. Lets see.

It’s a story I’ve had in my head for a long time and a story that is close to my heart. So many fun memories with friends and family are included. I know many (or I hope!) will read this and remember exactly where we where. I hope my mom reads the parts about my dad and smiles, because that man was wonderful and will be in every book I ever write. I hope someone I don’t know reads it and relates to it. Maybe it will change their mind or help them find peace.

I’m not really concerned with whether or not the book makes it, “big.” I’ve been asked that several times, and it’s just not what I’m after. That is beyond flattering, and if it happens, hey….but lets be honest here, that’s a one-in-a-million kind of thing. Not that I don’t believe Walter&Bridget can’t make it happen. I wanted two things when I got in my awesome chair to write it all down: A) to tell the story, and tell it well and B) to get the story out of my head.

The crazy part of all of it? I’m already working on the sequel, though I cringe at that word. Get excited.

THANK YOU FOR ALL THE LOVE!

IMG_4706.JPGIMG_4024.JPG

Leave a Reply

