The Twin Sized Mattress and Wishful Thinker

Standard

Oh hello, blog.

I have been completely wrapped up in finishing the Anchor. I know it’s important to try to get some hype about this book before I even try to publish, but I’m having too much fun writing it! And although I want to blab about that for a while, today I am not here to discuss that.

I’ve been sifting through old documents, journals, diaries, etc. I did this for a while this morning….insomnia at its finest. I was reading my diary from the 2008-2010 period and I stumbled upon this….and I had to share it::

September 14, 2010

Is it okay that I want to listen to Brand New all night and eat ice cream in bed and say that I miss you and hold your hand? Lets solve all the world’s problems with our well-wishing tonight before we turn out the light.

I wish I could help my friends find happiness.

I wish I could bring peace to the restless.

I wish I could demonstrate color to the blind.

I wish I could define love so the empty could be filled.

I wish I could transform hate into mere exploration of the unknown.

I wish I could make tangible music for the deaf.

I wish my hands weren’t so small; these wishes are so big.

I wish that people prayed for others half as much as they ask for it.

I wish I could bottle the feeling of the first kiss and share it will those who have lost love.

I wish I had 8 extra hands to help those moms and dads doing it alone.

I wish I had the cure for those who can’t find courage.

I wish you could see what I see.

I wish i had the power of influence to open closed minds.

I wish for the freedom of experience as long as humanly possible.

I wish I could pave the path to absolute understanding and assurance for those who wander and those who are lost.

*****

I’m still that same girl with those wishes and now so many more. I think it’s something when we look back on who we once were….and are comforted to find that that same person is still inside.

Leave a Reply

